Our Leadership

Passionate. Innovative. Dedicated.

At IDEA, we invest in people who bring 100% every day and are motivated to inspire others to believe in themselves and do their best work. We currently have leadership teams overseeing our district-wide, regional, and board operations.


JoAnn Gama

Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent

JoAnn Gama was born and raised in the north side of Houston. After graduating from Sam Houston High School in 1993, JoAnn attended Boston University on a full scholarship.


Phillip Garza

Chief College and Diversity Officer

Phillip is a graduate of The University of Texas at Austin where he studied music and art history. The first in his family to graduate from college, Phillip knows the value proposition of an undergraduate degree.


Sam Goessling

Chief Advancement Officer

Sam is a graduate of the University of Richmond, the Harvard Graduate School of Education (M.A.), and the University of Texas at Austin (Ph.D.). He joined IDEA’s founding teaching team at IDEA Quest College Prep where he taught 6th grade.


Dolores Gonzalez

Chief Program Officer

Dolores is a Texas native, and was raised throughout the state of Texas until she and her family ultimately settled in Kingsville.


Irma Munoz

Chief Operating Officer

Irma Muñoz was born and raised in Guadalajara, Mexico. She graduated from the University of California at Davis, and from Harvard University’s School of Government.


Martin Winchester

Chief Human Assets Officer

Martin serves as the Chief Human Assets Officer
at IDEA Public Schools, leading the
organization’s strategic efforts in recruitment,
staffing, professional development, talent management, compensation and benefits,
and retention.

Lisa Garza

Lisa T. Garza

Chief Schools Officer

As Chief Schools Officer, Lisa leads IDEA Public Schools’ vision and strategy to ensure all students graduate college ready and our schools earn an “A” Rating. The Chief Schools Officer manages Executive Directors and Regional Superintendents and is responsible for setting and embodying IDEA culture in our schools.

Leeanne Hernandez

Leanne Hernandez

Acting Co-Chief Financial Officer

Carlo Hershberger

Carlo Hershberger

Acting Co-Chief Financial Officer

Founder and CEO Emeritus

Upon graduating from Georgetown University with a degree in economics in 1997, Tom joined Teach For America and taught fourth grade in Donna, Texas for three years, after which he successfully launched the IDEA Academy in 2000, serving as the first board president and founding principal.


Ernie Cantu

Executive Director, El Paso

Kenneth Campbell

Executive Director, Southern Louisiana

Jill Dominguez

Regional Superintendent, RGV

Rolando Posada

Regional Superintendent, San Antonio

Tricia Noyola

Executive Director, Austin

Ana Martinez

Executive Director, Tarrant County

Natalie Rubio

Executive Director, Houston

Bethany Solis

Executive Director, Permian Basin

Julene Robinson

Executive Director, Tampa Bay

Jose De Leon

Jose De Leon

Executive Director, Jacksonville