Idea bulb logo

College Success

Sending 100% of our kids to college



To become the largest producer of low-income college graduates in Texas, IDEA Public Schools College Success Team, Directors of College Counselor, and College Counselors work individually with students throughout their time in IDEA Public Schools. IDEA’s College Counseling program is designed to prepare high school students for the college application process. Beginning in their freshman year of high school, students start meeting with their designated college counselor to develop their own unique list of colleges to which they will apply.

Each College Prep campus has a director of college counseling and two college counselors (approximately one counselor for every 33 students), ensuring that students receive the kind of personalized attention they need to be successful in their college applications. The College Counseling staff members teach college entry level skills, with a focus on time management and organizational skills as well as preparation to take the ACT exam. Counselors also help students and their families understand how to pay for college, including how to apply for financial aid, as well as how to prepare for the first day of college and how to deal with some of the challenges they are likely to experience during college.


*DCC (Director of College Counseling)
*CC (College Counselor)

National College Success Team

Phillip Garza
Headquarters
Chief College and Diversity Officer
956-373-8291 
phillip.garza@ideapublicschools.org

Cheryl Clark
Headquarters
Vice President of College Success 
956-678-6557 
cheryl.clark@ideapublicschools.org

Tarah Burris   
Vice President of Partnerships, Presistence and Graduation
956-678-8890
tarrah.burris@ideapublicschools.org

Alihermy Jauregui Valdez  
Headquarters 
Director of College Success
956-272-7575
Alihermy.Valdez@ideapublicschools.org

Denise Castaneda Jasso  
Director of College Success
956-261-6155
denise.castaneda@ideapublicschools.org

Denise Del Aguila  
Director of College Success
956-355-0254
denise.delaguila@ideapublicschools.org

Directors of College Counseling

Jose Avila 
Director of College Counseling 
956-309-8154 
jose.avila@ideapublicschools.org

Lynda Soto 
Director of College Counseling 
956-204-0743 
lynda.soto@ideapublicschools.org

Melanie Leija 
Director of College Counseling 
210-244-3885 
melanie.leija@ideapublicschools.org

Maricela Gaona 
Director of College Counseling 
956-647-7863 
maricela.gaona@ideapublicschools.org

Jennifer Martinez 
Director of College Counseling 
956-998-6290 
Jennifer.Martinez1@ideapublicschools.org

Humberto Valdez 
Director of College Counseling 
956-373-8742 
Humberto.Valdez@ideapublicschools.org

Marco Castillo 
Director of College Counseling 
956-272-2591 
Marco.Castillo@ideapublicschools.org

Roxanna Celedon 
Director of College Counseling 
956-272-3196 
roxanna.celedon@ideapublicschools.org

Sandra Estrada 
Director of College Counseling 
512-815-7344 
Sandra.Estrada@ideapublicschools.org

San Juanita Magana 
Director of College Counseling 
956-252-7632 
SanJuanita.Magana@ideapublicschools.org

Ana Carmona 
Director of College Counseling 
956-373-8118 
Ana.Carmona@ideapublicschools.org

Casey Theivagt  
Director of College Counseling 
956-802-5091 
casey.theivagt@ideapublicschools.org

Christina Lynch  
Director of College Counseling 
956-678-7609 
christina.lynch@ideapublicschools.org

Amanda Wratten 
Director of College Counseling 
956-342-1212 
Amanda.Wratten@ideapublicschools.org

Rolando Gonzalez 
Director of College Counseling 
956-261-6807 
Amanda.Wratten@ideapublicschools.org

Oscar Martinez III 
Director of College Counseling 
956-678-1137 
oscar.martinez1@ideapublicschools.org

Jahiarra Mitchell 
Director of College Counseling 
210-219-8529 
jahiarra.mitchell@ideapublicschools.org

Lauren Ayala Flack 
Director of College Counseling 
210-404-8671 
lauren.flack@ideapublicschools.org

Yvette Guzman 
Director of College Counseling 
956-373-2531 
yvette.guzman@ideapublicschools.org

Carla Rios 
College Counseling 
956-572-2241 
carla.rios@ideapublicschools.org

Estefania Abrego 
College Counseling 
956-332-8739 
estefania.abrego@ideapublicschools.org

Rocio Rangel 
College Counseling 
737-615-5023 
rocio.rangel@ideapublicschools.org

Jenise Horner 
College Counseling 
210-778-9418 
jenise.horner@ideapublicschools.org

Javier Gonzalez 
College Counseling  
javier.gonzalez@ideapublicschools.org

Iris Packebusch 
College Counseling 
210-223-8885 
iris.pakebusch@ideapublicschools.org

Tamara Griffith 
College Counseling 
210-779-8702 
tamara.griffith@ideapublicschools.org

Stephanie Covarrubias 
College Counseling 
956-541-2002 
stephanie.covarrubia@ideapublicschools.org



Visit our Alumni page

or read about the Road to and Through College.