3 Books Your IDEA Scholar Will Love This Holiday Break

IDEA Public Schools will be closed for Winter Break from December 21 through January 6. During this time, we recommend fixing up some hot chocolate, snuggling under some covers, and reading with your child.  When your child finishes a book, remind him or her to test on it online via the Accelerated Reader software!  Afterward, throw in some fun math games online too!

That’s right, IDEA’s Accelerated Reader & iLearning Hotspot software will be available during the break.  The math and reading fun never ends for your child!  You can access online information and login credentials here.    

In the spirit of reading and the holidays, here are three of our favorite books sure to captivate your child over Winter Break.  Check them out at your local library, or see if they’re available at your child’s campus AR zone.

book-spacer.png#asset:11658

Lower Academy (Grades K-2)

Snowmen at Night

By Caralyn Buehner

With snowflakes gently falling outside (even in the Rio Grande Valley!), this book is the perfect read for your young, budding scholar.  Snowmen At Night reveals the wonderful wintertime secret—when we are sleeping, the snowmen wake up and have incredible adventures.

snowmen.jpg#asset:12295

Upper Academy (Grades 3-5)

Star Wars Jedi Academy Series

By Jeffrey Brown

Has your child caught the Star Wars fever yet?  If so, make sure they check out this fun series.  Young Jedi battle foes, bond together, and learn important lessons in a galaxy far far away.

jedis.jpg#asset:12296

Middle School (Grade 6-8)

The Thief Lord

By Cornelia Funke

This enchanting throwback is a must-read for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.  Pick up this page-turner for your child and he or she will be magically transported to Venice, Italy in the early twentieth century, and meet a pair of orphans who encounter the mysterious “Thief Lord” in the wondrous city of canals.

thief-lord.jpg#asset:12297

Share this post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Recent Articles

FEBRUARY MENU

Hi! Click on the link below to access this month’s parent menu. Also, please consider completing a brief survey regarding our menu. Feedback on our menu can be submitted using the link to the right. Thank you!

¡Hola! Haga clic en el enlace para acceder al menú para padres de este mes. Por favor considere completar una encuesta breve sobre nuestro menú. Sus comentarios e impresiones sobre nuestro menú se pueden enviar mediante el enlace a derecha. Gracias!

Lottery is on Feb. 27!

Ready to start your journey at IDEA? Our student lottery for Texas and IDEA Tampa Bay is approaching.

Be sure to submit your application by 11:59 p.m. on February 26 to be considered for our date. 

We are so happy you are here.