Idea bulb logo

College Success

Sending 100% of our kids to college



To become the largest producer of low-income college graduates in Texas, IDEA Public Schools College Success Team, Directors of College Counselor, and College Counselors work individually with students throughout their time in IDEA Public Schools. IDEA’s College Counseling program is designed to prepare high school students for the college application process. Beginning in their freshman year of high school, students start meeting with their designated college counselor to develop their own unique list of colleges to which they will apply.

Each College Prep campus has a director of college counseling and two college counselors (approximately one counselor for every 33 students), ensuring that students receive the kind of personalized attention they need to be successful in their college applications. The College Counseling staff members teach college entry level skills, with a focus on time management and organizational skills as well as preparation to take the ACT exam. Counselors also help students and their families understand how to pay for college, including how to apply for financial aid, as well as how to prepare for the first day of college and how to deal with some of the challenges they are likely to experience during college.


*DCC (Director of College Counseling)
*CC (College Counselor)

Phillip Garza
Headquarters
Chief College and Diversity Officer
956-373-8291 
phillip.garza@ideapublicschools.org

Marisol Flores
Headquarters
Director of College Success
956-373-5471
marisol.flores@ideapublicschools.org

Cheryl Clark
Headquarters Director of College Success
956-678-6557
cheryl.clark@ideapublicschools.org

Yanira Aguilar
Headquarters
Manager of College Success
956-373-5549
yanira.aguilar@ideapublicschools.org


Sari Wilson
Headquarters
Director of Collegiate Summer Away Program
956-373-8953
sarah.wilson@ideapublicschools.org

Tarah Burris
Headquarters
Director of College Partnerships
956-678-8890
tarah.burris@ideapublicschools.org

Lisa Cavazos 
Headquarters 
Director of Student Advocacy, Parent and Community Engagement 
956-261-6595 
elizabeth.cavazos@ideapublicschools.org

Maricela Gaona
Donna DCC
956-647-7863
maricela.gaona@ideapublicschools.org

Abigail De Ochoa
Donna CC
956-373-8812
abigail.ochoa@ideapublicschools.org

Cecilia Medina
Donna CC
956-373-8567
cecilia.medina@ideapublicschools.org

Yvette Guzman
Quest DCC
956-373-2531
yvette.guzman@ideapublicschools.org

Ana Carmona
Quest CC
956-373-8118
ana.carmona@ideapublicschools.org

Marisol Rodriguez
Quest CC
956-678-7616
marisol.rodriguez@ideapublicschools.org

Guillermo Avilez 
Mission CC
956-373-5746 
guillermo.avilez@ideapublicschools.org

Arianna Robles
Mission CC
956-250-4966
arianna.robles@ideapublicschools.org

Rebecca Jeffries
Frontier DCC
956-373-8942
rebecca.jeffries@ideapublicschools.org

Humberto Valdez
Frontier CC
956-373-8742
humberto.valdez@ideapublicschools.org

Lesly Cisneros
Frontier CC
956-373-8758
lesly.cisneros@ideapublicschools.org

San Juanita Aranda
Pharr DCC
956-252-7632
sanjuantia.aranda@ideapublicschools.org

San Juanita Ruiz
Pharr CC
956-678-7199
sanjuanita.ruiz@ideapublicschools.org

Sandra Lopez
Alamo CC
956-369-9012
sandra.lopez@ideapublicschools.org

Aglae Quinones
Alamo CC
956-270-1003
aglae.quinones@ideapublicschools.org

Viviane Castillo-Manzano
Alamo CC
956-250-3417
viviane.manzano@ideapublicschools.org


Sandy Abrego
San Juan DCC
956-373-6421
sandy.abrego@ideapublicschools.org

Bellanira Nava
San Juan CC
956-373-5191
bellanira.nava@ideapublicschools.org

Bianca Hernandez
San Juan CC
956-605-9071
bianca.hernandez@ideapublicschools.org

Lynda Soto
San Benito DCC
956-802-4821
lynda.soto@ideapublicschools.org

Stephanie Lerma
San Benito CC
956-802-5091
stephanie.lerma@ideapublicschools.org

Monica Garza
San Benito CC
956-373-1160
monica.garza@ideapublicschools.org

Jennifer Garcia
Edinburg CC
956-998-6290
jennifer.garcia@ideapublicschools.org

William Corbit
Brownsville CC
956-678-7617
william.corbit@ideapublicschools.org

Jennifer Killebrew-Menchaca
McAllen CC
956-678-8916
jennifer.killebrew@ideapublicschools.org

Sandra Estrada
Allan CC
512-815-7344
sandra.estrada@ideapublicschools.org